Booze in Boston

Bar to Bar Through Beantown

Cask ‘n Flagon

“The Cask ‘n Flagon is a Fenway Park staple, and a great place to stop before, during or after a game.”

Neighborhood: Fenway
Address: 62 Brookline Avenue
Website: http://www.casknflagon.com/
Date of Visit: Saturday, October 12, 2011
Bartender Name:
 Joe S.

The Vibe

The Cask ‘n Flagon is a Fenway Park staple, and a great place to stop before, during or after a game…so much so that it was voted “Best Baseball Bar” in America by ESPN. The venue attached to Cask ‘n Flagon, Oliver’s, offers live music some nights of the week, meaning there’s truly something for everyone! Patrons walk through a patio area as they enter Cask ‘n Flagon, and Cask’s large bar sits in the center of a room surrounded by tables. The bar is triangle in shape and offers adequate seating for large groups, particularly at each corner to facilitate conversation while watching a game on one of the many TVs (over ten just at the bar alone). Cask ‘n Flagon’s allegiance is absolutely slanted to the Red Sox as evidenced by the many Sox pictures and themed menu items.

The Drinks

Valerie’s Drink of Choice: Spaceman Colada 
Ingredients: Van Gogh pineapple vodka, Van Gogh coconut, pineapple juice
Cost: $8.00

Review: I was a bit surprised when my colada drink came out in a martini glass,but in a good way!  This drink was delicious.  In tasting my first sip, I was immediately reminded of an old scent put out by Bath & Body Works Coco Cabana (I once had a bad experience where this lotion got shut in a suitcase and ended up all over my belongings [thanks Dad] so I am very familiar with the scent) – this drink tasted like that lotion smelled.  While that may sound gross, it’s definitely not!  The Spaceman Colada is fruity, tropical, and coco-nutty. This drink would have only tasted better if it was a summer day and I was sitting on their patio (or better yet on a beach).  The only downside was the ice chunks which escaped from the shaker and into the drink.  Also, Eric liked the froth on top.

Cheers:   

Eric’s Drink of Choice: Papi Smash 
Ingredients: Sailor Jerry Rum, cranberry juice, ginger ale, splash apple pucker
Cost: $8.50

Review:  In a tribute to our good friend Burns from NachoAverageBlog.com, I chose to enjoy a cocktail which featured his favorite rum, Sailor Jerry. Knowing my good friend Jerry is an over-proofed rum, I was expecting a kick when I took my first sip of this delectable beverage, but boy was I wrong. I couldn’t even taste the rum, but in a good way. The drink was perfectly balanced with the apple and cranberry pairing well with one another to create a tart flavor that offset the rum taste I had expected. Knowing there was ginger ale in the drink, I have to admit I was expecting more bubbles, but less was more in this case as I feel they would have confused my palate!

Cheers:  

The Stats

Wine Prices: Three whites and four reds available by the glass for $5 to $7 and by the bottle for $18 to $26.

Beer Prices: Twenty four varieties bottled/canned including Narragansett & Shocktop.  Twelve beers on tap.  No prices listed on the menu!

Other:  Cask ‘n Flagon has a lot of mixed drinks on their menu.  They offer four margarita options all made from their homemade margarita mix.  They also boast four “Signature Drinks,” including the Suicide Squeeze Martini, Snickers Martini, Double O, and the Spaceman Colada Above.  The remainder of their offerings fall in the “All Stars” category, that is drinks named after famous players, like Big Papi Punch, and Louie T’s Lemonade.  Although the mixed drink prices aren’t listed on the menu, one can assume based upon our picks that they are all in the $8 to $10 range.

One comment on “Cask ‘n Flagon

  1. ED
    November 8, 2011

    Never been here, but I have wanted to. I’ve been close, I stopped in at Boston Beer Works up the street but this sounds cool. You had me at “twenty four varieties bottled/canned”.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 19, 2011 by in Fenway and tagged , , , , , , .
