Booze in Boston

Bar to Bar Through Beantown

Intermission Tavern

“A few things of note – they make their own pineapple infused vodka, which we unfortunately didn’t realize until after we ordered our drinks.”

Neighborhood: Theatre District
Address: 228 Tremont Street
Website: http://intermissiontavern.com/
Date of Visit: Monday, April 25, 2011
Bartender Name:
PJ

The Vibe

Intermission Tavern is located just a block from the Boylston Street T stop – in the heart of the Theatre District and Emerson College.  We had come here for burgers a few weeks back and loved the food, so we decided it would be our first stop on this lovely booze-filled journey.  Intermission Tavern is a fairly small establishment (most of it fits in the picture above) and it’s got an eclectic feel.  The bar shelves are lines with copies of The Greek Tragedies as well as a seemingly legit VMA trophy (think moon man).  A few things of note – they make their own pineapple infused vodka, which we unfortunately didn’t realize until after we ordered our drinks, but a lot of the other people at the bar did order it and seemed to enjoy it.  If you’re tall and enjoy your kneecaps, don’t sit at the bar.  The stools situated so close to the bar top, which doesn’t have much of an overhang, that legs really just don’t fit – especially if you’re trying to lean on the bar so as to not spill your drink!  The place has two flat screens which at the time were showing sports and are easily seen from everywhere in the restaurant.  Also, if you’re looking for the men’s bathroom, it hides downstairs.

The Drinks

Valerie’s Drink of Choice: The Show Stopper  
Ingredients: Three Olives Grape Vodka, Chambord, Pineapple Juice, Splash of Cranberry
Cost: $10.00

Review:  I had high hopes for this drink.  It contained a bunch of my favorite things – chambord, pineapple and cranberry juices.  I was expecting something fruity and delicious.  Instead, I got cough syrup. Really bad cough syrup.  The grape taste was so overwhelming that I couldn’t even tell there was anything else in the drink.  I joked at first before I took a sip that I could smell the grapes – little did I know I would completely wipe out my pallate.   At first sip, it wasn’t all that horrible – but it was the aftertaste that made me feel like I had swallowed a spoonful of Robitussin.  Needless to say, I won’t be ordering this again.

Cheers: 

 

Eric’s Drink of Choice: The Intermission Manhattan  
Ingredients: Maker’s Mark, Sweet Vermouth (per the menu) bartender added Bitters
Cost: $10.00

Review:  A Manhattan is a Manhattan is a Manhattan, right? Eh, not in this case. I was looking forward to the wonderfulness that should have been, with call liquor Maker’s Mark and Sweet Vermouth simply chilled in a glass, what I got was a bit different. As I watched the bartender make the drinks, I noticed that for some reason, he had the bitters out while he made my Manhattan, I think this means it wasn’t a Manhattan anymore, but I digress. While the drink tasted okay, the bartender did not strain it properly, leaving a few ice cubes (one of which you can see in the image), that slowly but surely diluted the deliciousness and left me finishing cherry water as the last sip. I understand bartenders putting on a show for their customers, but if one has trouble “cracking the egg,” pull out the strainer.

Cheers: 

The Stats

Wine Prices: $5.50 to $10 per glass – bottles all priced at $21, $28, or $30
Beer Prices: $3.75 to $5.50.  Bud Light and Coors Light are all $3.75 each (a great deal for Boston).  More specialty beers, including Sam Adams and Sam Seasonal will run you the bigger bucks at $5.50 each.
Other:  Intermission Tavern has 17 menu specialty drinks and a Seasonal Specialty (when we were there it was the Lindsay Lohan…aka a Red Headed Slut w/ Coke).  These drinks are all $10 each.

One comment on “Intermission Tavern

  1. Pingback: One Year Blogiversary! « Booze in Boston

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 27, 2011 by in Theatre District and tagged , , .

Navigation

